Psychological West vs. Holistic East.

Tonight I went to an orientation for the Reidman International College of Complementary Medicine. The Reidman college is part of a greater network of alternative medicine schools across the world, and is by far the largest of its kind in Israel.

I got a note in the mail about the orientation and decided to check it out. Last year I attended a 3-day conference on alternative healing and I found it fascinating, especially in conjunction with my mediation studies.

It’s a subject I’ve always wanted to explore and I also figure, why shouldn’t it help with my mediation practice? Individuals need to mediate within themselves first, more often than not.

I like what I heard tonight, and I’m thinking I might sign up for the course this time next year when I’m finished with my current conflict management degree. I’d be doing a five-year holistic psychotherapy course which would explore the mind-body connection in regards to psychotherapy. It’s a mix of Western psychology and Eastern holistic medicine, which is exactly the kind of attitude I want to inject in my own offering.

This all falls under the topic I’ve always been curious about, energy healing. What are relationships without energy? Especially the relationship you have with yourself?

I don’t want to rush into that because I feel like I have a long way to go until I could master such a topic, but I am excited to begin exploring.

2 Responses to Psychological West vs. Holistic East.

  1. Gerdi Altman says:

    Hi – I just happened to see your comments and wanted to react because you mention you are interested in exploring energy healing. I am an energy healer, am in Israel, have clients worldwide and many years of experience. Feel free to ask me any questions on the subject. My website is http://www.energytuning.com

  2. Sephra Kinikini says:

    Hi my comment is to the person who wrote the article “better than misery.” I hope to apply for the Reidman College in Jerusalem but in the website it’s in Hebrew, do you know of a way to get information about the school and how to register for it!? I’m sorry I hope to attend this school to learn reflexology and massage therapy. But I don’t know hebrew even though my nationality is Jewish, and Polynesian I hope to learn more about this program like you did. If you know anyone else I could talk to I would be indebted to you. Thank you so much.
    Sephra

Leave a Reply

