The dwelling vs. the command.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the past. I have no idea why now, of all times; things are good, so it’s not nostalgic. It’s sort of a dwelling, like a cloudy mist that sometimes floats over my vision and takes me for short rides when I least expect or want it.

It’s very easy to dwell on the past. It’s too easy and it can be just as dangerous. I don’t think it automatically says that we are unhappy; it is just important that we are able to snap out of it on command. On our own command.

Too many people can’t do that – snap out of the dwelling on the past on their own command. It’s hard, yes, but only if you haven’t come to terms with the past or if you are comfortable wallowing in self-pity, superficial hate or exaggeration.

For me it’s the exaggeration and superficial hate that draws me in; it’s injustice left open like a blistering wound. But over years of experiencing the dwelling, the mist, I think I have a decent command nowadays. And I use it whenever I can.

3 Responses to The dwelling vs. the command.

  1. Geoff Sharp says:

    eliesheva, you write so beautifully

  2. […] around wondering whether I had done the right thing by embarking on this new career, I found this post especially poignant. 04 Oct 07 | Mediation Blogs, […]

Leave a Reply

